The Spanish football league is without doubt one of the world's finest. Its top division (the Primera División) is widely known as LaLiga, which translates as The League, and the organisation that runs it, along with LaLiga2 (the Segunda División), is known as the Liga de Fútbol Profesional, or LFP for short,

Despite the best efforts of Atlético Madrid, it's those two giants of the footballing world, Real Madrid and Barcelona, who have dominated the Spanish league over the years, making it a two-horse race for many of the seasons since Barcelona first won the championship back in 1929.

Despite the dominance of the clubs from the country's two largest cities, the Spanish league is full of some other great clubs. From the Basque clubs Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad, down to Valencia and the two clubs of Sevilla - Sevilla FC and Real Betis, the Spanish league is renowned for attracting some of the world's greatest players and showcasing an abundance of homegrown talent, resulting in extremely high standards of technical play.

Spanish Football League Articles