Commonly referred to as the Young Player of the Year award, its full title is The Professional Footballers' Association Young Player of the Year (or PFA Young Player of the Year).

The award is similar to the PFA Players' Player of the Year award in that it's voted for by the professional footballers in the English leagues, but it's only open to players who are aged 23 or under at the start of the season. As with the main award, it's considered extremely prestigious to win the award as it shows how highly the player is rated amongst his fellow footballers.

Players are eligible to win both the Young Player of the Year award as well as the full Players' Player of the Year award, although this has only been achieved 3 times, by Andy Gray, Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale.

English PFA Young Player of the Year Winners

All of the winners of the PFA Young Player of the Year award since Ipswich Town's Kevin Beattie first won it back in 1974...

Year Winner Club Country
2017 Dele Alli Spurs England
2016 Dele Alli Spurs England
2015 Harry Kane Spurs England
2014 Eden Hazard Chelsea Belgium
2013 Gareth Bale Spurs Wales
2012 Kyle Walker Spurs England
2011 Jack Wilshere Arsenal England
2010 James Milner Aston Villa England
2009 Ashley Young Aston Villa England
2008 Cesc Fabregas Arsenal Spain
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd Portugal
2006 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2005 Wayne Rooney Man Utd England
2004 Scott Parker Chelsea England
2003 Jermaine Jenas Newcastle Utd England
2002 Craig Bellamy Newcastle Utd Wales
2001 Steven Gerrard Liverpool England
2000 Harry Kewell Leeds Utd Australia
1999 Nicolas Anelka Arsenal France
1998 Michael Owen Liverpool England
1997 David Beckham Man Utd England
1996 Robbie Fowler Liverpool England
1995 Robbie Fowler Liverpool England
1994 Andy Cole Newcastle Utd England
1993 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Wales
1992 Ryan Giggs Man Utd Wales
1991 Lee Sharpe Man Utd England
1990 Matthew Le Tissier Southampton England
1989 Paul Merson Arsenal England
1988 Paul Gascoigne Newcastle Utd England
1987 Tony Adams Arsenal England
1986 Tony Cottee West Ham Utd England
1985 Mark Hughes Man Utd Wales
1984 Paul Walsh Luton Town England
1983 Ian Rush Liverpool Wales
1982 Steve Moran Southampton England
1981 Gary Shaw Aston Villa England
1980 Glenn Hoddle Spurs England
1979 Cyrille Regis West Brom England
1978 Tony Woodcock Notts Forest England
1977 Andy Gray Aston Villa Scotland
1976 Petter Barnes Man City England
1975 Mervyn Day West Ham Utd England
1974 Kevin Beattie Ipswich Town England