Since Gavriil Kachalin masterminded Russia's victory at the opening European Championships in 1960, many of Europe's finest managers and coaches have tried to follow in his footsteps. Many great names have failed, but here's the list of those who succeeded (and no-one's yet done it more than once)...

List of managers who guided their team to European Championship glory

Tournament Winner Manager
2016 France Portugal Fernando Santos (Portugal)
2012 Poland/Ukraine Spain Vicente del Bosque (Spain)
2008 Austria/Switzerland Spain Luis Aragonés (Spain)
2004 Portugal Greece Otto Rehhagel (Germany)
2000 Belgium/Holland France Roger Lemerre (France)
1996 England Germany Berti Vogts (Germany)
1992 Sweden Denmark Richard Møller Nielsen (Denmark)
1988 West Germany Holland Rinus Michels (Netherlands)
1984 France France Michel Hidalgo (France)
1980 Italy West Germany Jupp Derwall (West Germany)
1976 Yugoslavia Czechoslovakia Václav Ježek (Czechoslovakia)
1972 Belgium West Germany Helmut Schön (West Germany)
1968 Italy Italy Ferruccio Valcareggi (Italy)
1964 Spain Spain José Villalonga (Spain)
1960 France USSR Gavriil Kachalin (Soviet Union)